MJ/2dr xj shortbox. code name payote

OK so this is something that I have been working on for a few years and its time to start building.

I am driving the j10 for dd/work truck.

Krista has the 90 waggy all on the road for her and the baby... me sometimes LOL

so I am going to cut up the 87 2dr xj and the 88 shortbox mj to make a 2dr 4 seater MJ short box.

I have done a lot of measuring and drawings to how I want it to look.

Where to cut and reweld... I have the int out of 3 2dr xjs and int out of 6 mjs here so I can match all inside panels to give it a nice finished/factory look inside.

I have a cage here from a cj5 that will just about fit inside, with some small mods to front bars around dash.

I would like to put amc 360 in it with a ax15 combo... or I have a 350chev with 350 turbo and np231 set up in a xj all ready that I could use.

thinking of bucket seats in the rear with console and arm rest.

the 87 2dr has 6.5" lift and I have a great d44 for the rear of the MJ to lift it up to match.

will probably put d44 in the front out of one of the waggys.

going to be a fun project

Anyway let me know what you guys think...

cutting starts next wednesday. I will start posting pics then.

the doors are 9" longer.

so you will need to make the cab longer than that in order to put rear seats in it.

I suggest cutting the xj behind where the small vent windows would be in the rear side windows, and melding the comanche in right there. cut the mj off right in front of the b pillars, and leave the cab vents on it.

actualy to have the rear seat in place I have to cut 1" behine the rear pop out window. that leaves head room for anyone in the rear.

as for doors and where elts I am cutting. as you know the subframe on the mj is different then the xj.

so I am cutting the mj's floor at the firewall.

that way the subframe and foor stay togeather. cutting the xj's floor just behine drivers seat the sliding them togeather..