My Below the Knee Amputation - Iraq

Comanche County

Well Guys,

I did two tours (12+15 months) in Iraq as an Infantry Officer and didn’t get a scratch on me (not on the surface anyways),,,,

I decide to hang it up and join the civilian ranks, move to Colorado, then I get a nice offer out of the blue to go back as a contractor, I take it back in May.

Things are going well, I work mostly on the FOB, Victory in Baghdad, which was a welcome change. I had my fair share of excitement on the other trips. So I’m eating well and I make it to the gym consistently. I’m getting in decent shape. I got my leg press up to 630 lbs………5 days later I got my lower right leg amputated, not from enemy fire oddly, but from a MRSA infection. It hit me hard and was merciless.

I’m not sure but it could have been a spider bite on my foot. I had a small blister like spot on my foot that I didn’t think much about. I put bacitracin on it and kept it covered. I already had half a foot from a childhood accident and the grafted skin on my foot was sorta prone to blisters and it wasn’t out of the ordinary. Then I got a fever lasted 3 days which would spike at night up to 103-105. This was from the 10-13th of Oct. I stubbornly kept trying to break the fever, which I did several times. Then on the night of the 13th, my foot swelled tremendously and I knew I was in trouble. I remembered the little blister that wouldn’t go away and instantly thought spider bite, I had another back in August. I thought the swelling would go down overnight but no joy, on the morning of the 14th, I couldn’t even get out of bed….I called a friend to take me to the aid station. They transported me over to the BIAP CSH (CSH think MASH), and the doctors immediately operated on my foot to clean out the infection.