Diesel Comanche

jeep guts

Hey Jeep Fans,

I have been driving around in my diesel Comanche for about 6 or 7 years now. What makes it different, is that it has a 3.3 Cummins 4 cyl. diesel engine under the hood. It's hooked up to AX15 5 speed trans. and it's also a 4X4. I did all the work myself in my shop. The engine makes 85 hp. and 210 ft lbs. of torque. It's not a lot of hp. but it's the torque that makes it a killer setup. It gets 33 mpg city, 40+ highway, 3:08 gears, and 26 mpg city 30 highway with 3:54 gears, all day long. The size of the load doesn't seem to make a whole lot o difference. I'am new to this site and I'am having trouble getting pictures on to this site. I applied the Img key but I can't get it to go anywhere from there. Any help would be appreicated.

I am totally with Jeep Guts. I understand why the uninformed do not purchase Diesel vehicles in the US but it is very frustrating they are in limited supply. I would take a diesel over gas engine any day. If I could drop a diesel in my tahoe, I would. I had a VW Jetta that got 50mpg on the highway and cruised at 80mph down the interstates while doing it.

VW makes a V10, twin turbo diesel that is a real road rocket and gets 23 mpg. No HP and all torque. I drove one and it was unbelieveable. It is butt ugly though (sorry if anyone here has a touareg). :eek:

I recently found out the next generation Grand Cherokee will be basically on a car platform. I have thought about getting an '08 diesel before they disappear. A diesel wrangler would be impressive too (or better yet a Gladiator!)

The J8 supposedly comes with a 2.8l turbo diesel. Not a Comanche, but still a Jeep p/u truck. Wonder if/when they will be available to the general public in the US.

There is nothing "supposed" about it.

And they will never be available to the general public in the US.