2.5L swap to a 3.4L?

I've kinda seen on here a couple times about a 3.4L swap? I have a 86 Comanche with the 2.5L, 904. Can I get a 3.4 out of a Firebird with a manual trans( so I don't have to worry about the automatic wiring)Wiring harness,Computer, an Dash cluster. Will my 904 bolt to the 3.4L Engine? Or will I have to change trannys to? Also can I take my NP207 out an Put a NP231 in? Same spline count an bolt pattern? I'm new to the whole JEEP thing some I'm kinda try to figure out what will work an what won't. This truck is not a DD so Streetabilty is not a big Issue.

The Jeep 2.5L engine was engineered to use the same bell housing to block bolt pattern as the 2.8L GM V6, which is the same block as the GM 3.4L. So you can swap in a 3.4L and use your existing transmission. An early (1987 through approximately 1990) 231 transfer case can be used instead of the 207, because both are 21 splines on the input shaft. About 1991 Jeep changed to a 23-spline input shaft, which will not mate up with your tranny.

I put together this pile of info a few years ago but until now it was always a word document. I figured now's as good a time as any to see if it'll fit on a forum. :D It's not complete though. I'm still waiting for someone to try it and report back with the details and a whole mess of photos.

Jeep on!

--Pete

Swapping out a 2.5L Jeep engine for a 60* Chevy V6

------------------------------------------------------------------------

First, I feel it’s my responsibility to start off with all the negatives and typical nay-say that would generally be brought forth if this were to be asked on a open forum/message board.

-It would be *infinitely* easier and probably more cost effective to sell the Jeep and buy another with the 4.0L.

-Swapping engines, even among identical blocks, is a HUGE undertaking. They always require more time and money than planned. And always *expect* surprises!