Finally got my carpet up...suggestions on minor floor repair

Is this something that I should really worry with too much, or should I just hit it hard with rust inhibitor and rubber undercoating?

I also intend to undercoat the truck from the bottom. The question is, should I cut away any of this rot and rivet in new stuff, or what? I have never done body work before.

I wished mine looked like that. Anyway, most of the guys seem to patch any holes (check for softspots with something pointy) than it seems to be POR15 and Herculiner (or some sort or bedliner). I had to get new pans put in. But than I followed the other two steps.

One other thing...the driver's side seat bracket was so bad that part of the front inner foot was rusted through. I am not happy with my father for not taking better care of this...

I wished mine looked like that. Anyway, most of the guys seem to patch any holes (check for softspots with something pointy) than it seems to be POR15 and Herculiner (or some sort or bedliner). I had to get new pans put in. But than I followed the other two steps.

Yeah, I have seen worse. It is odd that no two seem to rust the same place or in the same manner...This was my most recent 95 XJ:

Image Not Found

the rust spots in the xj and mj's is due to a very poor drainage set up. instead of draining off or being absorbed and dried, it sits in the bottom and rusts. the carpet is not enough to absorb it and they really use poor or no padding and protection there. some car companies use a protective layer under the paint in the foot wells, some even use a thin material on the metal to absorb the moisture, they even paint it! but jeep used nothing on these so they rust.